January: Goals Round-up

It’s the end of the month (you may have noticed). I thought I would do a round-up of my goals for the month and just talk my way through what I accomplished and what I didn’t. Let’s take it point by point:

  • Cut back to three sodas per week.
  • Walk four laps at the mall twice per week. Even with work.
  • Stop buying microwave lunches. Get Subway instead, but no chips or drink.

These three were my “healthy living” goals for the month. I can’t say that I did great on them, the soda in particular being difficult for me, but I did improve in small ways. I am trying to cut back on my soda consumption and I did a fair-ish job at it this month. Going to California halfway through the month put a little kink in that plan, but I think I managed to get back on track after we returned home. Exercise was another sore point. I only managed to hit my goal activity level last week, unfortunately, but hopefully that’s a signal of things improving more as we move into February. As for eating less microwave food, I did a fair job, I think, only buying those types of lunches four or five times for the whole month.

  • Write 1k for the month. Possibly on The Outpost.
  • Finish flash fics if they’re not already done.

Writing progress: I wrote 1200 words for the month, all of it on The Outpost, my TRON fanfic. I did not work on the flash fics even a little bit. My enthusiasm for that little project kind of waned when I hit a roadblock on it back in December. I’m going to attempt the course again next month, so we’ll see what happens with that.

  • Read two books, at least one of them new.
  • Watch eight movies, at least two of them new.
  • Write one movie review for the blog.

I didn’t even get through one book, but in fairness, the book in question is Pat Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind, which is 700ish pages long. I’m hoping to finish it early next month and move on to some easier to get through books. (That’s not a knock against NotW, btw. I think it’s brilliant. It’s just… very long.) I also failed spectacularly at reaching my movie goal, except for the part where I did see two new movies– Hidden Figures and La La Land. Now if only I had written a review of one of them for the blog… though I suppose my five-review round-up early this month counts as a movie review.

  • Try to visit my brother and SIL once.
  • Baking: bake macarons again, this time a flavor from the Hermé book. Bake cookies.
  • Practice ukulele twice a week. Learn two nursery songs.
  • Work on the Disney puzzle.
  • Start the new blog (Scribe the Sky). Post at least once a week.
  • Watch four episodes of every show I’m behind on. Keep up with others.
  • Beat Pokémon Sun. Play more Story of Seasons.
  • Clean and dust room. Decorate like you’ve been meaning to forever.

Okay, a lot to cover here, except not because I didn’t do more than half of it. I visited my brother and sister-in-law this past weekend, check. I didn’t accomplish any baking this month, but in fairness, I have been working six days a week, and things like macarons take some planning and forethought. That I don’t have time for.

Ukulele practice just did not happen. Neither did working on the puzzle. New blog? Happened! I even posted once a week! Go me! I unfortunately did not start catching up on the shows I was behind on, and I barely kept up with the ones I wasn’t behind on. Whoops. Also whoops: instead of playing Pokémon or Story of Seasons, I bought a new copy of Animal Crossing: New Leaf and started a new town. Go me?

I kind of cleaned my room, which is to say I cleared away boxes and stuff, but didn’t really deep cleanse. I also started decorating my walls, after living here for only three years. [showing here]

  • Figure out payments for student loans.
  • Save $400 if still employed. $50 if not.

I have not really done the first. I looked at it today and I think I need grown-up help. I also kind of did the second? I saved $300, but did not save that last hundred because I had a short paycheck the last week of the month, thanks to going to California and then getting spectacularly sick.

All in all, I had a fairly productive month, I think. No, I didn’t accomplish everything I set out to do, but I’m learning to be Okay with that. It doesn’t really matter in the long run. I still got some things done, and that’s better than nothing.

2 thoughts on “January: Goals Round-up

Leave a Reply

