General Life Update No. 1

So what have I been up to since posting my February goals? I know you’re all dying to know. On impulse I want to say “a whole lot of nothing,” but that’s 1. being too hard on myself; and 2. not true.

I have been working towards the completion of my goals, for a start. I’ve been practicing ukulele. I’m working on the Disney puzzle. I’m still reading The Name of the Wind and I started rereading Robin McKinley’s Beauty so I can actually finish some books this month. I’ve even managed to watch a couple of movies, and I’m planning on seeing another this weekend.

Perhaps the biggest thing going on in my life right now is my retry of Holly Lisle’s flash fiction course. When I tried the course back in December, I was taking it week by week. I quit sometime in the middle, when I lost faith that my ideas were any good, and also in my ability to find my way to endings I couldn’t yet predict. (I had just joined Holly’s site, so the lessons were only available at one per week.)

Now that I’ve started over, I’ve got access to everything, and I’ve gone over all three lessons before starting. I’ve reused some of my ideas from the first go round, and I’m trying not to let myself fall into the trap of not believing in myself. I have beginnings written for all five fics, and while they need work, they’re decent starts. Some of them need tightening up to bring down the word count (I’ve only got 500 words total to work with), and others need a little more detail added to establish things. Nevertheless, it’s a start. And it’s more than I had when I started, which was nothing.

I have also been playing video games, though not necessarily the ones I listed in my goals. I’m doing dailies in Animal Crossing, at least in one of my towns, anyway. I also started playing the copy of Ocarina of Time 3D I bought a couplefew weeks ago. I haven’t even entered the first dungeon yet, so I don’t know how it’s going to go. I have internet guides to help me, at least.

I can’t think of much else to update you on, so I’ll leave things off here. What have you been up to lately? Feel free to share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

