February: Mid-Month Progress Report

So it’s (well) past mid-month, which means we’re due for an update on how those monthly goals are coming along. Last month, as I’ve discussed before, was something of a misfire. I got some things done, but not all of them. This month thankfully seems to be going better, though there have been some falters here and there.

In the Healthy Living category, things are going fairly well. Well, decently well. I’ve actually managed to keep up with my soda goal! I’ve stopped making excuses to buy a Coke at work, and that’s helped enormously. I’m kind of cheating by having soda “days” rather than a set number, but I haven’t had more than two in a day since the month started. I decided to throw the caffeine limit out the window. On a “bad” day, I probably don’t consume more than 100mg, which is well below the daily recommended limit. I’m fine with that. Exercise and junk food eating have not been such a success, but I hold out hope that I will one day get my crap together.

Writing-wise, I’ve been working, as I said in my last entry, on Holly Lisle’s flash fiction course. At the moment I’m redrafting my story beginnings, but I think if I total all that up I’ll hit 1000 words  with ease. And maybe work on finishing my stories as well.

Reading and all the other stuff: well, I think I’m going to finish one book this month, at least, but it’s probably not going to be The Name of the Wind. (It will be Beauty, by Robin McKinley.) NotW has been progressing slowly ever since Kvothe, our hero, basically discovered girls (well, one girl) and his obsession with her is more than a little grating. Luckily, the plot seems to be thickening, so maybe I’ll get through it after all. I haven’t watched as many movies as I would like, but I have a three-day weekend this weekend, so maybe I’ll tear myself away from Terraria long enough to watch a few.

Speaking of Terraria… last month, it was Animal Crossing: New Leaf, and this month it’s this. I bought Terraria for the 3DS on a whim last Saturday. It is now Thursday as I draft this, and I am both frustrated and hopelessly addicted.  Frustrated because I can’t seem to make much progress in the 3DS version, and addicted because I went and bought the PC version as well, and I’m having too much fun to stop. Terraria is a sandbox game in the same vein as Minecraft, but with a much bigger vision. There dozens of monsters and tons more crafting options, and that’s just the start. It’s a lot of fun and despite  my mediocre progress, I’m really enjoying it.

In other news: I baked the cake for my father’s birthday, though it didn’t quite turn out the way I’d hoped. Here’s a picture of it, with my not-so-flattering commentary. I haven’t been saving money thus far because I had a little fraud incident with my bank account and couldn’t access my funds online, but I plan to save the whole $400 in one go after I get paid this week. I practiced ukulele the first couple weeks, but last week was a bust. I haven’t been knitting at all, much to my chagrin. Other stuff’s been going on, but I think I’ll cover all that in another post.

I can’t think of anything else that really warrants updating on. Despite my fits and starts this month, I’m actually quite proud of my progress. It’s nice to see that I can do things if I put my mind to it, even if those things include playing too many hours of a video game.

How’s your month been going?

Leave a Reply

